MCR Committee

2017-2018 MCR Committee
Back Row:Nazhif Zaini, Annelies Baneke, Lucas Saric, Heather Macpherson, Josh Richman, Andrew Gwynne
Front Row: Nicholas Langford, Yuri Im, Harry Holkham, Gaya Muthukumar, Maxim Kuvshinov, Andrea Di Antonio, Caitlin Merry

Biographies and photos will be coming soon

President: Harry Holkham

Hi all, I’m a medical student on the graduate course and I’m your MCR president for the next academic year. A challenge that I’m looking forward to. My role as president is to represent the views of students at college level meetings and working with the MCR committee to put on a collection of events throughout the year – from the classic Cambridge Bop to academic, cultural and welfare events. The role of the whole committee is to try and allow you to get the most out of your time at Hughes. If you think that there is anything that we can do to help you, please get in contact. or hoh21

Vice President: Nicholas Langford

Nicholas Langford is a final-year undergraduate from Melbourne, Australia, reading for the Classical Tripos. As Vice President, he supports Harry Holkham in representing Hughes students at both the College and University levels. Within Hughes, Nicholas sits on the House Committee and the Development Strategy Committee. He is also the College’s delegate to the Cambridge University Students’ Union. He is a keen rower and thespian. Contact Nicholas at or njwl2

Secretary: Andrew Gwynne

Hello or ag879

Treasurer: Maxim Kuvshinov

Hello or mk887

Academic Affairs Officer: Yuri Im

Hi, I am Yuri, a second-year graduate medical student and your Academic Affairs Officer this year. As such, I am in charge of liaising between College and students on scholarly matters, coordinating a subcommittee, and organising academic events. Please do drop me an email if you have any suggestions for educational events or learning facilities at Hughes, and also if you would like to chat about any personal academic issues! or yri20

Social Secretary: Milind Pandit

I am a third year PhD student in the faculty of engineering, specializing in sensor design. I am outgoing and like to get involved in organizing and being part of social events. As your social secretary, I am responsible for organizing bops, garden parties, freshers week events, and other social events throughout the year. I will make sure they cater to different interests so that everyone has a great year at Hughes Hall. or mnp26

Social Secretary: Gaya Muthukumar

Hey! I’m Gayathri Muthukumar and I’m a second year law tripos student here at Hughes. As one of your social secretaries, I’ll be in charge of things such as bops at the college, formal swaps and lots more fun events throughout the year that cater to everyone. If you have any ideas or concerns, please feel free to drop me an email! or gm571

Welfare Officer (Female): Annelies Baneke

Hello! I’m an MEd student studying for a Masters in Research in Second Language Education. As your Welfare Officer, I’m around for any questions or concerns you may have during your time at Hughes – you can always email or call if there’s anything you’d like to talk through. We also organise events throughout the year, so check the calendar to get involved! or Annelies Hermes account is not currently active

Welfare Officer (Male): Andrea Di Antonio

Hi all, I am Andrea and I am a first year PhD student in Chemistry. As your Welfare Officer, I must ensure that everybody enjoys their time in Hughes Hall and feels as comfortable as possible. I am happy to be contacted if you have any questions or issues. or ad823

LGBT* Officer: Lucas Saric

Hi everyone! My name is Lucas and I’m your LGBT+ Officer for the following year. My role is to ensure the college is LGBT+ friendly, and that everyone is respected equally. In particular, I intend to work on keeping college policies gender neutral. Keep a look out for the famous Hughes Hall LGBT+ Month Formal, as well as various social events, just join the ‘Hughes Hall LGBT+ Society‘ on Facebook to keep up to date! Feel free to contact me for any reason, even if you just need a link to the FB page! or ls709

Minority Ethnic Officer: Caitlin Merry

Hello or clmjm2

Accommodation Officer: Josh Richman

I’m Josh and I’m a second year Law student. As accommodation officer I provide a link between the students and the college, relaying student’s concerns to the relevant staff members and making sure we have a say in any proposed changes in policy or structural developments. I also help coordinate Summer Storage. or jar90

Sports and Societies Officer: Nazhif Zaini

Hello or

IT and Infrastructure Officer: Harry Holkham

Hello, I was infrastructure officer from 2016-2017 before being elected as president. Nominations for my replacement will be announced in the coming months or hoh21

Green and Ethical Affairs Officer: Heather Macpherson

Hello or hm524


President: Harry Holkham
Vice President: Nicholas Langford
Secretary: Andrew Gwynne
Treasurer: Maxim Kuvshinov
Male Welfare Officer: Zen Ng
Female Welfare Officer: Katarina Hlavata
Internal Social Secretary: Milind Pandit
External Social Secretary: Maximillian Campbell
Academic Officer: Luíza Leão Soares Pereira
Sports and Societies Officer: Jodie Chalmers
Ethical and Environmental Affairs Officer: Kai Schulze
Infrastructure Officer: Harry Holkham
LGBT+ Officer: Yu Ling (Lydia) Wong
Diversity and Equality Officer: Lucas Saric
Accommodation Officer: Josh Richman


President: Peta Blundell
Vice President: Nicholas Langford
Secretary: Molly James
Treasurer: Gulshan Singh Gill
Male Welfare Officer: Andrea Di Antonio
Female Welfare Officer: Annelies Banneke
Social Secretary: Milind Pandit
Social Secretary: Maximillian Campbell
Academic Officer: Yuri Im
Sports and Societies Officer: Nazhif Zaini
Ethical and Environmental Affairs Officer: Heather Macpherson
Infrastructure Officer: Harry Holkham
LGBT+ Officer: Lucas Saric
Diversity and Equality Officer: Caitlin Merry
Accommodation Officer: Josh Richman


President: Ellinore Ahlgren
Vice President: Maya Raphael
Secretary: Clare Collins
Treasurer: Sheridan Jones
Male Welfare Officer: Luke Valori
Female Welfare Officer: Georgie Rawson
Internal Social Secretary: Taylor Harris
External Social Secretaries: Steve Campbell, Nathan Wang
Academic Officer: Peta Blundell
Sports and Societies Officer: Sally Mole
Ethical and Environmental Affairs Officer: Rina Kuusipalo
Infrastructure Officer: Jill McKenna
LGBT Representative: Yu Ling (Lydia) Wong


President: Jonathan Loesing
Vice President: Clare Collins
Secretary: Xander Friedlaender
Treasurer: Sheridan Jones
Male Welfare Officer: Andrew Hoolachan
Female Welfare Officer: Sally Mole
Internal Social Secretary: Steve Campbell
External Social Secretaries: Marjun Parcasio and Sheena Wong
Academic Officer: Emily Ruzich
Sports and Societies Officer: Katie Klavenes
Ethical and Environmental Affairs Officer: Dara Djavan Khoshdel
Infrastructure Officers: George Sarbu and Chris Eng


President: Tobi Olasounkanmi
Vice-President: Omar Shamayleh
Secretary: George Sarbu
Treasurer: Stephen Hall
Welfare Officer (Male): Angelo Mussita
Welfare Officer (Female): Julie Witter
Internal Social Secretary: Ben Goldberg
External Social Secretary: Nelly Olova
Academic Officer: Dara Djavan Khoshdel
Sports and Societies Officer: Erling Amble
Ethical and Environmental Affairs Officer: Amy Thomas


President: Ben Goldberg
Secretary: Stefano Gogioso
Treasurer: Christian Ku
Vice President: Stefano Salvatore
Social Secretaries: Martin Sedlak, Andrew Walls
Welfare Officers – Davide Cavaliere, Lara Diaz de Grenu
Bar Manager: Stefano Salvatore
Sports and Societies: Erling Amble
External Social Secretaries: Nelly Olova, Michel Schammel
Ethical Affairs Officers: Marcus Tan, Lorenz Fenk
Undergraduate RepresentativeL Gunel Mehdiyeva
Internal Social Officer: Eugenio Cocchi
Development Officer: Amy Thomas
Off-College Officer – Miranda Abild